Downton FC

Ground: Brian Whitehead Sports Centre, Wick Lane.

Nickname: “The Robins”


  • Formed:1905 & joined Wessex League:1992
  • Clubhouse: Yes
  • Midweek: Tuesday
  • Colours: Red shirts, Red shorts, Red socks
  • Alt. colours: Yellow shirts, Blue shorts, Blue socks
  • Sat Nav: SP5 3NF

Wetherspoons: “The Kings Head Inn” 1 Bridge Street, Salisbury, SP1 2ND

  • Downton FC,Brian Whitehead Sports Centre, Wick Lane.,SP5 3NF

Directions: The ground is situated 6 miles south of Salisbury on the A338. Entering the village from Salisbury Wick Lane is on the right signposted “Leisure Centre” and the ground is approximately ¼ mile on the left.

Honours:League Cup Winners 1995-96 | Division One Winners 2010-11

History:

The Club was founded in 1905 following a meeting called by a local clergyman and after the First World War the Club joined the Salisbury and District League. In 1925 they were the inaugural winners of the Norman Court Cup and went on to win the trophy on a further eight occasions. In 1950 they joined the Bournemouth League and won the Division One Championship five times. They then moved to the Senior Division and were Champions no fewer than seven times in the 1960’s. In order to progress further the club switched to the Hampshire League winning three promotions before joining the Wessex League in 1992. Two Seasons later they won both the League Cup and the Russell Cotes Cup. They have also over the years enjoyed success in the Wiltshire Senior Cup amd the Salisbury Hospitals Cup. In 2010/11 they achieved promotion to the Wessex League Premier Division and have since become worthy and respected opponents at that level.

DOWNTON is a large Wiltshire Village that straddles the River Avon and is on the edge of the New Forest National Park. It is well known for its fishing and also boasts a local Brewery whilst the annual Cuckoo Fair attracts upwards of 20,000 people to the village.