Christchurch FC

Ground: Hurn Bridge

Nickname: "The Church"

  • Formed:1885 & joined Wessex League:1987/88
  • Clubhouse: Yes
  • Midweek: Tuesday
  • Colours: Blue shirts, Blue shorts, Blue socks
  • Alt. colours: Yellow shirts, Black shorts, Yellow socks
  • Sat Nav: BH23 6DY

Wetherspoons: “The Sir Percy Florence Shelley” 673-675 Christchurch Road, Boscombe, BH7 6AA

  • Christchurch FC,Hurn Bridge,BH23 6DY

Directions: A338 from Ringwood and leave at the junction marked Bournemouth International Airport (Hurn). At T junction turn right and continue through the traffic lights to the small roundabout in Hurn. Turn right away from the airport, exit signed Sopley, and 100 yards on the right is Hurn Bridge Sports ground.

Honours:League Cup Winners 2011-12 | Combination Cup Winners 2008-09 League Division One winners 2017-8


Christchurch FC was founded in 1885 and were founder members of the Hampshire Football Association. They won the Hampshire Junior Cup in 1893, 1912 and 1921 and between the wars they were members of the Hampshire and Bournemouth Leagues gaining promotion to Hants Division one for the first time in 1938. Like most Clubs they have been “up and down” in the Leagues and won the County Division Two in 1948 and 1986 and Division Three in 1953. In 1970 they became the first club to win the Bournemouth Senior Cup in three successive seasons and they claimed the Hampshire Intermediate Cup in 1987 before joining the Wessex League the following season. After many, many years at the Barrack Road Recreation ground the Club moved to its present home in1984 and many improvements to the facilities have since been and are still being carried out with the floodlights and stand soon to be joined by new changing rooms. The ground has played host to the Wessex League Cup Final on a number of occasiosn. The Club has twelve teams under its umbrella operating at all levels up to the Wessex League and in recent years they have become a force in the League with consistently high finishes and the winning of the League Cup in 2012.